My guestbook has been getting quite a bit of comment spam lately. Someone from *.wanadoo.fr (who isn't POI) is posting comments under a variety of names and urls, all pointing to crappy casino/pharmacy/ringtone sites. I've been letting it slide until now because I sort of admire his/her effort of thinking up new "compliments" about my site, as if they were genuine guestbook entries.
Then there's the repeated buup114 spammer, who, according to my logs, opens entry 1516, posts the same exact comment and leaves again. Never mind that the text is completely indecipherable...
I like how I've maintained an almost zero percent moderation rate with regard to comments (I don't even remove double-posted comments), but I think I will be removing at least the urls from these ones, to discourage further attempts at enhancing ones Pagerank like this.
More discussion on comment spam at Simon Willison, Jeremy Zawodny, JayAllen and dive into mark.
milov.nl
Interaction design • webdevelopment • web art • photography